Chicken and cilantro wonton Asian salad

20120330-184636.jpg

Getting ready for book club. I signed up to bring an “exotic salad”. Our book selection was “Buddha in the Attic” , so I came up with this salad with an Asian flair. Will post more details later !     

The Chicken and Cilantro wontons are from Costco.  Simply pan fry until golden brown, then add a little water, cover and steam.

For the salad, I used organic greens, edamame, orange slices,  sliced almonds, and shallots.

Dressing:  My Asian dressing was adapted from my friend Nancy’s terrific blog  “http://4plates2table.com/” – Here’s her original recipe:

  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp hot chili oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp minced fresh ginger
  • Pinch red pepper flakes

I used sriracha instead of the hot chili oil, and I reduced the ginger amounts.  I didn’t have canola oil on hand so I used vegetable oil.

All in all, everyone enjoyed the salad.  The wontons can be made  and served with just with the above dressing as a dipping sauce.

4 thoughts on “Chicken and cilantro wonton Asian salad

Leave a Reply

