Bagara baingan (shortcut)

20120517-191323.jpg

….the authentic recipe involved multiple steps and requires a lot of time. I will post my shortcut recipe later !

 

Hi there!  Ok.  It’s later now.   And, the verdict is in…my husband liked the eggplant dish!

I’m glad I came up with this idea.  I had roasted one eggplant, not knowing what I was going to do with it – maybe make some kind of dip like I always do.  But then I thought, let me give this shortcut recipe idea a try and make my Hyderabadi hubby happy.

Method:

Roast one large eggplant in the oven (400 degrees) until soft.  After the egpplant cools, peel it and cut it into chunks.

Take a one inch chunk of fresh tamarind and place it in 1/2 cup of hot water, and stir to make a tamarind “juice” if you will.

In a saute pan, heat up 1/4 cup olive oil, and add one finely chopped onion; saute  for a few minutes.  Add about 2 teaspoons of  fresh garlic-ginger -jalapeno paste, and continue to saute for a minute or so.

Add 1/2 tsp cumin powder, 1/2 tsp coriander powder, 1/4 tsp cumin seeds, 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp red chili powder, and 1/2 tsp salt and saute for a minute to blend.  Add the eggplant chunks, and gently saute  – you don’t want to make them mushy.

Add the tamarind “juice” and 2 tsp of peanut butter, and gently mix well.  Cover and simmer on low for a couple minutes

until all flavors are mixed and well absorbed.   Garnish with coriander leaves if desired, and serve.

(I did not have sesame seeds on hand, but if I did I would work them into the recipe somehow as that is an

essential ingredient in traditional bagara baingan).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

